Thursday Tips: Ginger Tea To Stay Warm And Healthy!

Rudolph with Ginger Antlers Ginger is good for our bodies in so many ways and because of its immune-boosting properties, its perfect to help give our bodies the support they need to stay healthy through the rest of this holiday season and into the new year! Ginger and lemon also have very strong, distinct aromas and are great foods to explore to stimulate our sense of smell. So, for our Thursday Tip on this Christmas Eve I want to share with you a ginger tea recipe adapted from an ayurvedic tea served at Miraval Resort and Spa that my family loves and helps keep them healthy all winter long!  Ginger Tea

1/2 cup ginger juice (made in a juicer with 2 cups of fresh peeled and chopped ginger root)

or

2 cups fresh ginger root peeled and sliced

1/3 cup honey (or to taste–some people like more or less honey!)

2 Tbs fresh squeezed lemon juice (or to taste–I like a lot more lemon!)

5 cups water

Combine the ingredients in a pot on the stove (If using an organic lemon you can add the lemon into the water after squeezing out the juice).

Bring to a boil and then simmer 15-20 minutes.

Remove lemon and serve.

If you used ginger slices or grated ginger instead of ginger juice, strain the tea before serving.

Enjoy! To your health and happy holidays!

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Thursday Tips: Ginger Tea To Stay Warm And Healthy!

    1. I love you tips and think we have much the same taste in natural remedies! I make a turmeric, almond milk drink, too, and love your idea for a natural cough syrup! Thanks for stopping by Learn To Love Food and sharing your post! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My mum always been using natural stuff for cold. I am doing same for my kids now – onion syrup for cough and black tea with honey,lemon and garlic. It’s a natural antibiotic and it taste pretty good too!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve wanted to try a ginger tea for ages, I imagine it would be helpful with upset tummy’s. I’ve also had a recipe for a turmeric tea (to help with inflammation I was told) on my fridge for ages and have yet to pull the trigger and make it. New Years resolutions here I come. Thanks for inspiring me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad it was inspiring! It really is my favorite winter tea! I also make a yummy almond milk, turmeric chai-less chai…now you’ve given me an idea for a tea to make tonight and maybe it’ll find a way to put it in a post soon, too 🙂 Good luck with your resolutions!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your recipe for ginger tea looks delicious! My mom has been making it on her own (but her recipe is very VERY plain… she bakes the ginger until they are dry and crisp, and then she will boil and stew them in water for a few hours) and then drink it straight (no lemon or honey!).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

